An Introduction To Blu

DOWNLOAD: An Introduction To Blu

The homie Samir (who I’m convinced is actually Blu himself) came through with a twenty five track compilation which does NOT include any retail songs. Just a multitude of more obscure efforts with solid sound quality. Click on the image after the jump to zoom in on the tracklist. Enjoy.

Comments on: "An Introduction To Blu" (43)

  1. RNC Chairman Michael Steele said:

    What’s that you say, tron?

    6k?

  2. *chuckles*

  3. mobbdeen said:

    Oh lawd.

    RNC threw the vaseline away. No homo.

  4. Abortatron said:

    It was way funnier when it was 6k.

    Ironically, the post was titled “you know you done fucked up right?”

  5. Brolic Fons said:

    The takeover

  6. Blu is dope, looking forward to, “No York”. Good looks on the tape

  7. @Tree No problem homie. I was listening to it at work this morning. It’s REALLY dope. Props to Samir for sharing.

  8. silas aka simon said:

    below the heavens renewed my faith in hip hop. If that shit had the right push (no mr cee) and situation behind it, it could have been big.

  9. gramMasta said:

    The homie Samir (who I’m convinced is actually Blu himself)

    ^ BEEN thinking that

    nmcjic

  10. I’m not a big fan of “Below The Heavens”. It’s cool but I like the GodLEEbarnes tape way more.

  11. gramMasta said:

    lf: who else out there thinks these bamma breezies are gonna make history tonite?

  12. Brolic Fonts said:

    Brolic Fons said:

    ^either a name fail, or a nigga cool as fuck

  13. 8 ball>>>>

  14. I’m not a big fan of “Below The Heavens”.
    ^^^

    What the fuck, hl?

    Nah, I know what you mean. If theGODleeBarnes(lp) was available in CDQ, I’d probably like it more too. Blu’s production skills are pretty crazy, and the movie samples he put in make for a pretty cool theme throughout the tape.

    Pretty ill site, btw.

  15. @Samir/Blu Don’t get me wrong. BTH is dope, but I don’t think it’s as earth shattering as others I guess. I rarely ever listen to it.

  16. The crazy thing is I actually like the sound quality on GodLEEbarnes. It grew on me, and feels like I’m listening to a cassette.

  17. gramMasta said:

    # gramMasta Says: Your comment is awaiting moderation.
    April 5th, 2011 at 8:25 pm

    * walks in the NAHfeteria *

    * opens dufflebag w/lindens butter crunch cookies *

    ^^^ how that get moderated? smh(ead)

    @ samir/BLU

    we noticed how you totally ignore this comparison

    if its u salute nigga…

  18. mobbdeen said:

    ROFL @ Samir/Blu.

    Now I’m on that paranoia shit too…

  19. I could just relate a lot to BtH, that I never really could with any other albums. I play Wu-Tang, Nas, Clipse, etc. a lot and appreciate the wordplay, but I can only get into that music so much. I can get the imagery those artists paint, but fuck, I grew up in the suburbs.

    So BtH was just about this normal average lifestory, combined with Exile’s mastery of soul samples = extremely dope to me. “”I got dreams I ain’t reached yet, ends that ain’t meet yet… when it comes to being a man, shit I’m barely getting my feet wet.” Good shit.

  20. Haha no, I’m not Blu. Just a big fan.

    If I’m Blu, JihaD is 50 Cent, Hopp is WTK, and landlord is Charles Hamilton.

  21. Haha no, I’m not Blu. Just a big fan.

    If I’m Blu, JihaD is 50 Cent, Hopp is WTK, and landlord is Charles Hamilton.

    ^

    So would that make eskay Mr. Cee or the tranney?

  22. I play Wu-Tang, Nas, Clipse, etc. a lot and appreciate the wordplay, but I can only get into that music so much.”

    ^^^^^

    LEAVE!!!

  23. ” If I’m Blu, JihaD is 50 Cent, Hopp is WTK, and landlord is Charles Hamilton. ”

    And Kid Frankie is Curren$y and Remix is Enrique Iglesias.

  24. mobbdeen said:

    …and I’m GAWD.

    Worship me, you peasants.

  25. Heroine Headliner said:

    I think I’m Big Meech…..

    Larry Hoover…..

    #RichOffCocaine

  26. @hl, haha. The first time I heard Raekwon’s verse on CREAM, I was stunned. It was incredible. But I’d be a tool to pretend I can relate to what he was saying.

  27. silas aka simon said:

    So would that make eskay Mr. Cee or the tranney?

    ^^^

    eskay is mr cee, nation is the tranny

  28. @Samir maybe I need to revisit BTH, but when I heard it I just thought, wow this guy can rap.. and then I didn’t really listen much any more. On GodLEEbarnes is when I felt like he started spitting some real shit.

  29. And Kid Frankie is Curren$y and Remix is Enrique
    Iglesias.

    ^#StopSnitchin

  30. mobbdeen said:

    Fuck relating to music, we live out elaborate fantasies in 2011.

    Cultural tourism FTW.

    Get with the program or get imaginarily trampled by my eagle’s talons as he flies off the mountain top.

    #Bawseisms

  31. Heroine Headliner said:

    Remexicano = Ricky Martin

  32. silas aka simon said:

    The crazy thing is I actually like the sound quality on GodLEEbarnes. It grew on me, and feels like I’m listening to a cassette.

    ^^^

    i think i was just expecting that exile type shit which really is half the reason i liked below the heavens so much

    exile + blu >

  33. Cultural tourism FTW.

    ^True. Escapism is dope.

  34. @Silas I’m going to have to disagree.

    Blu + Blu >>> Exile + Blu

  35. Kid Frankie is Curren$y and Remix is Enrique
    Iglesias.

    ^#StopSnitchin
    ——
    LOL

  36. Comin out smooth limpin like a pimpsta, got fleet full of bitches and they all call me mista

    8 Ball>>>>>

  37. NovemberEnd said:

    looking forward to, “No York
    ^^^
    I’m not

    I’m hoping that J*Davey track w/ Flying Lotus was thrown out just there to the check people temperature on a possible Electro type album.

  38. Heroine Headliner said:

    I look at a a ho…..

    An see a potential Tyra…..

    In two weeks…..we cud flew thru the boutiques…..

    I look at Wale….

    An see Eddie Murphy in Cummin’ to America…..

    Wit tha skills of Rakim…..

    I look in tha mirror…..

    An see a BAWSE…..

    Some people see thangs that neva was…..

    An ask “why?”

    I see thangs that neva was…..

    An ask “how much fo tha Maybach?”

    #BAWSEthoughts

  39. silas aka simon said:

    @Silas I’m going to have to disagree.

    Blu + Blu >>> Exile + Blu

    ^^^
    I really dont like the way blu chops his shit. The way exile flips that socal soul shit was ridiculous.

    Blu and Fashawans tracks i like the most were produced by exile. I prob put blu in a bth box but damn that lebarnes shit sounded like he said fuck a mix and forgot about mastering.

  40. NoYork! is unfortunately going to be a mostly electro album. I’ll obviously cop but I’m not too enthused about the production. He’s been mentioning this for a while now as the direction he’s wanted to take his solo album since like ’07 though, so it’s not like a really recent decision.

    There was one interview right after the CRAC album had been released, where he addressed fans being unhappy with Ta’Raach’s sound. He said he really appreciated how Nas had different styles for all of his albums, and he wanted to showcase the electro LA underground. Something like “if you want more Below the Heavens, go listen to BtH again, I don’t know what to tell you.” I don’t necessarily like it, but I respect it.

  41. NovemberEnd said:

    I guess their consolidation in that he working on another project with Exile and has 2 other projects in the works.

  42. gramMasta said:

    And Kid Frankie is Curren$y

    ^ wait, what?

    * is confused *

    * turns on vaporizer *

  43. Shiit if no york has the electronic sound it’ll be a disappointment.. lets hope for the best people.

Leave a Reply

