A couple days ago, I gave the latest Drumma Boy club-attempt [which you should actually avoid] a chance and it got me revisiting a playlist of mine that includes, if nothing else, enough Drumma-produced potential hits for the casual listener to see he’s not even trying that hard at this point. Especially given that, according to the man himself, he knocks down five beats per day.  It also showcases a level of diversity Zaytoven is uncapable of — which is something Gucci already figured out. I’d throw Lex Luger in there too but, apparently, he’s having much of the same trouble Drumma went through — being asked by the industry to keep delivering more of what he already did — so I’ll let the guy live for now.

What made me decide to highlight Can’t Crush My Cool outta the many options I had, is how polished it manages to sound, fast-paced as it is. Even though Ryan Kilgore, Drumma’s sax player, gets a little, well-deserved, extra shine at the outro, you don’t even have to wait for it to see just how it makes sense that he’s there.

That’s not to say the production is the only thing to look for here but, quite frankly, the affiliation of Juice’s label [HYP]OCALYPTO with Grand Hustle pretty much got him frozen from the jump. Grand Hustle virtually hasn’t made any major move in the last two years and that doesn’t seem like it’ll be changing anytime soon.

Still I had some expectations for this to go places when it dropped. If nothing else, at least I’d get to see where the kid could go musically since Can’t Crush My Cool is at the very least an interesting choice for a single. And you can’t really blame for that either. The song dropped in 2009, not too long after Jeezy managed to release a pretty dope album off Put On and the music business would be just that more beautiful if it promoted more of this unapologetic hood music. Regardless, as CyHi [or is it CiHy ? Why am I pretending I care ?] Da Prynce will soon find out, that’s not the case. That kid won’t get a record release with a single like Sidewayz.

And that’s too bad. We won’t get another The Recession as long as the music industry keeps cutting the umbilical cord before these new rappers even release their Thug Motivation 101.

Comments on: "Juice ft. Bun B “Can’t Crush My Cool”" (20)

  1. I support those who support me

    I want me some george bush money

    too $WonDough$>>>>>>>Cant crush my cool

  2. sick’s meal yawn weighs two dye.
    chews won.


  3. ^
    further proof that dude was the real future of NY.

  4. Dope Post Hopp.

    I agree too, Drumma Boys sounds lacksidasical now.
    I don’t know if Juice had next or not though. I don’t know too much about him. I’ll check it all out now though.

  5. EnglandRepresent said:

    Who the fuck is Juice and why is he doing a track with Esko?

  6. ” I don’t know if Juice had next or not though. ”

    Yeah, we’ll never know. He had an unsuccessful run at another label before aligning himself with Grand Hustle.

    Maybe he’ll bounce from label-to-label until he gets comfortable, Curren$y-style.

    Appreciate you checking, tho.

  7. real nigga shit said:

    Juice is the dude from Black Wall Street..

    I fux with BWS heavy..

    Game top 5 rapper in the game….with Wayne and Ye…

    Shout out to Avante Rose, Skee, Taydoe Tv..

    I’ve spoke to AR on the phone….he’s a cool dude…real personable

    BWS 4 LIFE

    WEST COAST

  8. “Why am I pretending I care ?”
    _____________
    Lol. Aside from a cool freestyle someone posted before, no reason to care.

  9. Nah'sOnlyWhiteBoy said:

    I will post a new submission for the Nas contest shortly

    Also Trondo, I took your advice and cleaned up the first track I released. I will post that as well

  10. That’s cool NOWB.

    Whattup to the rest of youse

    *daps*

  11. *sees music imbed*

    *cries tears of joy*

    JihaD

  12. Oh, and Drumma Boy needs to give his beats to better rappers, or at least more interesting rappers, like the recent Gucci/50 collab.

    Oh, and Ashmi-Prime will do a song with ANYONE for 3,000-5,000… you just may never get the actual verse cleared by his label.

    SMH.

    JihaD

  13. Ain’t it beautiful shellz?

    I mean .. Seriously.

    Shout out to hopp.. Dude spent a lot of time working on a solution. And I think he came up with something for now.

    Ultimately, we hope to have a better plan in place in the very near future, which you guys should get an e mail on in the near future regarding both.

    It’s really a great step in the right direction.

  14. This freestyle actually: youtube.com/watch?v=iY4BAz4MlJg

  15. Nah'sOnlyWhiteBoy said:

    Tron whats your email agin? NH I’mma send that through with a picture

  16. I live in phx,az and this dude has no buzz out here at all even with all the co signs he got,his chance at 15 minutes of fame may have passed him by

  17. abortatron said: April 11, 2011 at 8:50 pm
    Ain’t it beautiful shellz?
    I mean .. Seriously.
    Shout out to hopp.. Dude spent a lot of time working on a solution. And I think he came up with something for now.
    Ultimately, we hope to have a better plan in place in the very near future, which you guys should get an e mail on in the near future regarding both.
    It’s really a great step in the right direction.

    ^

    It is, B. That shit has me smiling, lol.

    I’m working on two posts right now that both require imbeds to really finalize them and have them ready to go.

    *daps Hopp*

    JihaD

  18. Blaze said: April 11, 2011 at 9:39 pm
    I live in phx,az and this dude has no buzz out here at all even with all the co signs he got,his chance at 15 minutes of fame may have passed him by

    ^

    Of course he doesn’t.

    Such is the life of a Black Wall Street artist.

    Plus, Willy Northpole >>>>>>>

    Body Marked Up >>>

    JihaD

  19. Nah'sOnlyWhiteBoy said:

    Tron/Jihad – I sent that song to you on the georgebush @ gmail.

  20. Agreed jihad but northpole dont have a buzz out here either if anything juice gets more love then northpole does but body marked is still >>>>>

Leave a Reply

