Eminem & Royce Da 5’9″ – Fastlane

Honestly, when news leaked a few days ago that these two are planning to drop an EP on June 14 (Bad Meets Evil), I was less than excited. I’m a fan of both rappers, but I’ve soured on collaborations a bit (too many of em these days) and this shit would have been a better idea in 2003.

Besides, both of their last albums didn’t get too much burn from me – Royce fared much better than Em in that regard though. (Editor’s Note: The rest of this paragraph is largely inspired by Abortatron – a man whose hatred for the white race, hot sauce and Eminem knows no bounds) I mean, did you listen to ‘Recovery’? If I didn’t know any better, I’d think that shit was released on Atlantic Records. It was some focus group catnip fuckery. In a fair world, Eminem should have ended up at UPS stocking shelves after that mess, but as things stand, he went Quotople Platinum (© Tupac) and won more worthless awards, so what do I know? I honestly believe that ‘Relapse’ was the superior record by far, despite the accents and demented posturing.

But enough ranting. I’ll be damned if this song doesn’t have me looking forward to the project. I didn’t know what to expect, but this is pretty good – even with Eminem being involved in the production (his beats largely suck – it’s merely budget Dre shit with an added dose of paranoia). The 2nd verse is especially impressive – the chemistry is great and even though they both go full tilt on the rappity-rap, I’m pleasantly devoid of any Slaughterhouse flashbacks.

I’m definitely listening (like with purpose and shit)…

Comments on: "Eminem and Royce Da 5’9″ // Fastlane" (28)

  1. Lol at grins hatred of hot sause

  2. Heroine Headliner said:

    one hand wash tha otha…..

    both launder tha money…..

    fuck witcha boi…..

  3. I’m not feeling the beat too tough but they both snapped on this, they rappity-rapped so hard i couldn’t help but scrunch face. I think royce put in his worse performance in years on that SH record (sans sound off). Recovery is a joke, street hop had some gems, but yeah this is all a bit late and I dont see the production being much better.

  4. manhattan earth said:

    deeny sucks weeny

  5. I guess I was just expecting this shit to be extra awful.

    It isn’t.

  6. harlem world said:

    deen is the gay blogger on the team, he adds diversity

  7. I wanna hear Royce get back to rapping the way he did on the Independant’s Day album. “Yeah” was and still is my shit! When Royce is on some street lyrical shit, that’s where he seems to be most comfortable on records IMO.

    Death Is Certain >>

  8. Heroine Headliner said:

    Tru story…..my closet like two stories…..

    #richoffcocaine

  9. Heroine Headliner said:

    I saw my friend stabbed wit a ice pick

    #mylifecrazylikeobamas

  10. If this shit popped off in 2003 during the Shady/Aftermath/Gunit era, Royce would have been going Platinum on his solos. Instead D12 and Obie Trice got to go Plat. I’ve always liked Royce, he’s one of those dudes who probably should of had a big career but didn’t for whatever reason. But this isn’t bad. I was on the fence like most about this….it could still end up bad…but this track shows promise, I’ll have to wait and see I guess

  11. who hates hot sauce?

  12. middle class zo said:

    yo shellz thee odor>aap

    but whats that second beat jihad uses. Wheres that from?shits ill.

  13. real nigga shit said:

    Young Jeezy is back officially.

  14. NovemberEnd said:

    Recovery wasn’t that bad

  15. Recovery wasn’t that bad

    ^^^

    It kinda was.

    That nigga B just dropped another song. I laughed a few times.

  16. \”if , if, if it woulda\”

    lets talk about now,

    fact is, it didnt drop in 03, so we will never know what it would have sold

    all i know is its 2011 and recovery won a grammy, sold 4 million copies

  17. hulkshare.com/tdqfmzv2w6ul

    *VICTORY LAP

  18. lets talk about now,

    fact is, it didnt drop in 03, so we will never know what it would have sold

    all i know is its 2011 and recovery won a grammy, sold 4 million copies

    ^^^

    I wasn’t talking about interest from a commercial standpoint. I just think they were both better rappers back then, since as with most artists, they were hungrier when younger.

    It’s difficult to get excited about this kind of shit now when you know it should have happened back in the day if not for some weird drama.

  19. Danny Ocean Says:

    April 29th, 2011 at 1:09 pm
    if any of you were true friends of jihad you would tell him to cut his losses and take the loss graciously — not gas him up like he’s actually scored any points in this bout

    I respect his grind…but this is getting embarrassing

    it is what it is

  20. rap elvis is here to stay, hes not going anywhere, anytime soon

    rap elvis will go down in history as the most successful rapper of all time

    accept it niggas

    he beat us at our own sport

  21. man,whoever killed big x pac changed the face of hip hop

    there would be no eminem – rap elvis woulda been chased out by pac

    dr dre would have no momentum
    snoop would be finished
    no limit would never have blown up
    puffy would never have sold so many records rapping
    g unit wouldnt exist
    jay-z would be in the corner

    i could go and on – but the point is, the death of big x pac changed hip hop, like an asteroid or tsunami

  22. \”to use black music so selfishly
    and use it to get myself wealthy\”

  23. man,whoever killed big x pac changed the face of hip hop

    there would be no eminem – rap elvis woulda been chased out by pac

    dr dre would have no momentum
    snoop would be finished
    no limit would never have blown up
    puffy would never have sold so many records rapping
    g unit wouldnt exist
    jay-z would be in the corner

    i could go and on – but the point is, the death of big x pac changed hip hop, like an asteroid or tsunami

    ^^^

    You should delete this and turn it into a post.

  24. middle class zo said:

    whats that second beat jihad uses on a.a.p yo. That piano is killing me.

  25. hoots 2.0 said:

    Its mr steal your man

    #DeenGems

  26. Your margin for error is razor thin.

    #stalingems

  27. Heroine Headliner said:

    if Big ain’t get shot…..

    He woulda reigned…..

    Til tha BAWSE showed up…..

    Throne only has got room fo one king…..

    RAWSE >>>>>

  28. hoots 2.0 said:

    it’s friday niggers, I’m going shopping if it got a price tag I’m not copping… bringing my young thang with me too, she a Meagan Goode, Alba collabo in the face. I’m doing it up v.i.p when I walk in the malls, I’m flanked by security walking with me with the velvet rope surrounding me. I don’t even be wanting to talk to people so I front like im talking on my celly.

    fuck witcha boy.

Leave a Reply

