I might write a full review of the MMG album (Self-Made, Vol.1) in the future, but it’s safe to say that it’s a pretty
decent effort. It’s good. Cop produced or otherwise. Actually, I won’t write a full review. I’m lazy that way.

That being said, the hook on ‘By Any Means’ has to be the apex of Rick Rawse’s fantasy-deludo rap. Holy fuck. My brain exploded listening to that shit. The fucked up thing is that it might even be the best song on the entire project (competition comes in the form of the song that has Curren$y on it – shit’s smooth), so I’m destined to hear it a few more times. Let’s examine this shit briefly:

Pork on the fork, white in the pot
By any means if you like it or not
Malcolm X, by any means
Many 14s stuffed in my denim jeans
As-Salamu Alaykum Wa alaikum as salaam
Whatever your religion, kiss the ring on the Don
Real nigga, street certified, hit the streets whip cost 335

What. The. Fuck? What does that shit even mean?

First, that shit is ignant as fuck. ‘Pork on the fork’? Then two lines later ‘Malcolm X’, followed by the standard muslim greeting (A-Salam Alaikum)?

Well damn.

The shit is kinda subtle, but the juxtaposition of black/Islamic imagery/iconography and criminal shit talking is…

…I got nothing. I have a headache from trying to analyze what I just listened to. Rick Rawse is a ridiculous fuck. On the next song he’s talking about a cap that’s both a snapback AND fitted. This nigga just fearlessly makes shit up and no one cares. The music sounds great though. Blasphemous, nonsensical and great all at once.

In Rawse & co.’s defense, it’s really an excellent song. Lil’ Lody’s beat suggests that he’ll be doing much more than Lex Luger impressions in the future (speaking of Lex Luger, he contributes his most unique sounding beat yet to Self Made, Vol.1 – progress!) and Meek Mill, Wale and Pill contribute great verses. Especially Pill – I think a lot of listeners are going to take notice of the Pink City representer after they hear his work on this shit.

But back to Rawse’s delusions. I think the lesson here is that if you say some shit loudly and confidently enough, people will buy it (see Jigga and Wayne’s claims to be the GOAT – no one seemed to care until they both whined about it enough). Fuck the truth. Also, it’s best to turn off the thinking nodes in your brain when you hear any combination of Rick Ross, 808s and triple hi-hats.

Matter of fact, when I hit the club tonight I’mma just start making shit up when I holla at these girls. If it works for the fat man, then it’ll work for me too. The power of positively deluded thinking.

Pork on the fork… Christ…

*Shakes my damn head*

Comments on: "BAWSE’S GREATEST DELUSION YET…" (32)

  1. This is an approximate summation of my thoughts on Rick Ross’ entire career. Well said.

  2. FireBrand said:

    I see what you’re saying with the point that Ross sometimes links ideas that feel like they have no connection.

    But I do think that criminal enterprise and being “hard” are two elements often ascribed to the NOI. Somehow that hook makes sense tome.

    Maybe I’m forcing it to but it does.

    Pork on the fork — Could be pigs, could be symbolic of enemies and/or saying he’s eating good regardless

    The rest makes sense until “14s,” which could make sense I just have no idea what that means.

    Peace be onto you , but you better kiss the ring: It’s business, it aint personal.

    Last line? In case you thought to question it, check my certification. I mean, I get it. *Shrugs*

    At the same, though, when I listen Ross I’m enjoying how he’s adding what could be scat for all I care over the instrumental. With him more than many today it’s about the feel.

    And thank god for that. Because there hasn’t been a cat with some swag *I* appreciate on a track for a long, long time.

    No. Jay-Z is not the swag I’m talking about. I’m talking about being JUST complex enough for people not to break down all your success to the voice and cadence ala Guru.

    Meh.
    I feel you, though. On other tracks I don’t get what he’s saying. I don’t really try either, though

  3. I think what he meant by that line is that he’s indulging himself in shit that’s frowned upon by the self-righteous black communities, and doesn’t give a mothafuck about it. He then throws in the Malcom X references because he happens to be synonymous with the nation of islam.

  4. Who posted a chopped and screwed mixtape a while back? It was either an Odd Future tape or some indie/rock band?

  5. Pork on the fork, white in the pot
    By any means if you like it or not
    ^^
    He does shit that is frowned upon in society or parts of the society

    Malcolm X, by any means
    ^^
    reverse hashtag rap

    Many 14s stuffed in my denim jeans
    ^^
    Dunno what a 14 is but I guess if you know it makes sense. I guess it’s either money or gun related

    As-Salamu Alaykum Wa alaikum as salaam
    Whatever your religion, kiss the ring on the Don
    ^^
    self-explanatory

    Real nigga, street certified, hit the streets whip cost 335
    ^^^
    same here.

  6. mobbdeen said:

    Niggas thought I was serious? ROFL.

    I suppose it’s less not understanding that shit and more being astounded at the sheer audacity on display. Plus I’m a fake muslim and I often dry heave at the sight of pork.

    Is nuthin’ sacred to da Bawse?

  7. Mafia Music 2 >

    Rozay should do an EP with Chrisette Michelle..

  8. Heroine Headliner said:

    Pause on tha pork…..

  9. Heroine Headliner said:

    #BuyAnyJeansNecessary

  10. embed fail…..

  11. mobbdeen said:

    Not bawse…

  12. mobbdeen said:

    Meek needs more bass in his voice. Pause.

    Sometimes, he just sounds like he’s whining about some shit. But dude can RAP.

  13. I feel like I should listen to his project..but Wale is wack, I’m indifferent to Meek Mill & Pill.

    Tupac Back and Fitted Hat are decent tho..although im guessin most songs will sound the same

  14. Heroine Headliner said:

    Album ov tha year…..

    Hands down…..

    Or…..

    Man down…..

    Make ya choice…..

  15. my jordan hi-tops snapback fitted cap

    WHOO

  16. …I got nothing. I have a headache from trying to analyze what I just listened to. Rick Rawse is a ridiculous fuck. On the next song he’s talking about a cap that’s both a snapback AND fitted. This nigga just fearlessly makes shit up and no one cares

    ^^

    DEADDDDDDDDDD

  17. How real I keep it that’s the best secret but u hating too hard to even peep it , my climb to the to the top was the steepest my gear was the cheapest the meek shall inherit the earth I was the meekest(c)gunplay

  18. mobbdeen said:

    Wale is wack

    ^^^

    no-sign.

    listen to it already.

    rapture coming in like 3 hrs!

  19. Fonts, B said:

    yo yall should get the scoop on the 1st interview with the rapture pastor tomorrow

  20. wale has improved since joining mmg

  21. Do any of you Republicans listen to anything aside of Hip Hop, like reggae or Indie etc?

  22. Tom Hanks is CRIMINALLY underrated as one of the GOAT’s .. FACT

    Toy Story, Castaway, The Terminal, Forrest Gump and Saving Private Ryan are all >>>>>

  23. when i first heard still tippin…it was like nothin id ever heard

  24. ^^
    This. And Like A Pimp

  25. bbc.co.uk/news/world-latin-america-13488620

    *cops a narco tank*
    *puts spinners on it*

  26. randy ravage a.k.a SHOOT YA DAUGHTER IN HUR CALF MUSCLE said:

    This album is a classic. Wale and Meek Mill really outdid themselves. I just became a fan of Mr. Meek and Mr. Folarin, but they are great rappers.

    Ross, Wale, Meek Mill = The 2010 Miami Heat

    so to speak

    you have to admit it….they complement each other very well..

    Pill is too gutta…talking that slavery and nigger…shit…i fucks with it…

    Rick Ross on the musical tip…has become a legend of some sorts….South Legend..

    I put ross one notch under Lil Wayne…Lil Wayne is great….

    2 notchs over Trick Daddy and Scarface….Rick Ross is on the same pedestal as T.I.

    Jeezy where ya at?

  27. randy ravage a.k.a SHOOT YA DAUGHTER IN HUR CALF MUSCLE said:

    Rawse “The Bawse” = Lebron James “The King”

    Meek Mill = Dwayne Wade

    Wale “My pradas say prada, your’s say fila…HA” = Chris Bosh “Soft nigga, with Lady Like mannerisms, and emotional and sensitive interviews and press conferences, but do not get this nigga started, he goes hard in the paint”

    Pill = Udonis Haslem….Street gutta nigga….He the clean up nigga…bus niggas head open…throw them ‘bows…grabs niggas by the jersey…step on niggas jays and nikes…

  28. You think I give a fuck if you know my government? said:

    1. how the fuck you keep so many blogs, kid? i went to what i thought was your blog and got this: http://mobbdeen.blogpot.com/

    2. chetmart recently posted a partial triple six discography (i have only gotten a full disco, like 6 gigs, from bittorrent). download, delete everything after 2000, and get right.

    3. officer ricky’s biggest delusion, and the reason I will never hear his ass again without vomiting: http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-jlIT_Zng8Js/Tdrtpm92JFI/AAAAAAAAQGU/OuJ77EkXYAs/s1600/00-rick_ross-tupac_back_%2528hosted_by_tapemasters_inc%2529-%2528bootleg%2529-2011-%252800-cover%2529.jpg

  29. Hilarious…

    I’m just mad that whenever his buzz is up he starts taking topless photos. *dry heave*

    #TeamPutThoseThingsAway

Leave a Reply

