Lazy Producers Need Motivation

image

Back in 2010, one of the greatest MCing/Producing combos Hip Hop has ever witnessed sent out this particular tweet. Being the fan that I am, this news was cause for excitement. Unfortunately, we now live in an age where Rappers can express their unfiltered statements and give announcements like “This project is coming soon.”, “This project is a classic.” or “I am going to kill it this year.” yet these claims are often not backed up by meaningful actions. That’s right, Q-Tip was nowhere near back and throughout this article, which is a sequel [the original being this,] I’ll discuss some of his moves and their context, even though the fan in me low key wanted him to keep his word.

Swizz Beatz serves as an interesting point of reference. Swizz has definitely been working, and people are actually paying real money for said work. Despite the fact that Swizz actually believes Reebok[‘s] back and that featuring the vocal talents of Alicia Keys on this beat made complete sense, he did manage to keep his promise. In an interview from last year, [that I ‘m having a hard time finding due to the redundancy that brought these interviews to become more and more useless,] Swizz conceded he claimed for notoriety. He braved about how he wasn’t seen enough, he wanted to be the forefront, he wanted to appear more.

And he did. Although he might have broken a law by inviting himself to every Kanye studio session during the Free Fridays period, you certainly couldn’t miss Swizz Beatz in the last six months of 2010, a trend he’s somehow managed to stretch far into 2011 with no signs of slowing down. It’s remarkable, really, if you consider the number of hooks he had to offer, you’d think he’d be better at it, or at least gotten lucky with one or two.

Now what about Tip ? From the time of the tweet in question to me actually drafting this article [which was a long time ago,] his most noticeable move was this. He also participated in producing a Santigold track called Go!. Why am I not linking the track ? Trust me, it’s more an accident than a move. He did manage to produce a less-than-thirty-second Intro for Glasses Malone, had a modest appearance on Saigon’s debut album and co-produced something on Watch The Throne. Is that the big return he had warned the game about?

It might seen unfair for me to imply Q-Tip should be forced to work more. After all, some work is better than no work, right ? Well, the lack of content is actually only half the problem, and I’m also here to tackle the way he’s been conducting his projects.

But back to that tweet, let’s look at Beyoncé, for example. The album Q-Tip was working on with her already dropped and, yup, zero actual Q-Tip on it. None. Watch The Throne, coincidentally, featured a song with Beyoncé vocals with Tip listed as a co-producer. Easy to deduce, a co-produced track, and the obvious low-point of the most hyped up projects of the year, was likely just a leftover his work from her solo album. That’d be a shame, if that the only record deemed worthy from Tip’s sessions with Beyoncé is the disaster affectionately known as “Lift Off”… Although I’m involving a theory here, you get the point.

And if you don’t, let me spell it out for you – Q-Tip has become a Plan B producer. That’s not my personal ranking [Lord knows I think Kamaal is one of the best to ever do it,] but rather how the market labeled him to keep the motor running. Think back in the Represent days, Fat Joe, known to pick beats with a very wise ear, selected Diamond D to go over half the project. Would D have that much space on the album, though, had Jim Jonsin or Lex Luger been around at the time ?

If you have ever heard H.A.M., you know exactly what I’m talking about here. And if you don’t, JihaD worded it out in a recent article  – Go there and take a look. While recording My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, Kanye West knocked out so many tracks, he had about five records with T.I. done. While there are a lot of rappers out there who could use a verse from Clifford, does Kanye really need five tracks with T.I. ? Apparently not, as none of them ended up being used, but that’s what he was doing – He was on overload mode much like Swizz Beatz, collecting what he could from his sessions.

Remember that boom bap album Kanye had previewed for DJ Premier way back in the album’s lifecycle ? Although West denied its existence, it isn’t much of a reach to think that it exists somewhere among the countless tracks that were recorded for what would eventually become the final album. But it didn’t end up being [or wasn’t at all] Plan A.

If you think those are exclusive events, think of Losers. Soundtrakk is a long-time collaborator when it comes to Lupe Fiasco. They work well together and have musical chemistry, which is obviously important. But in the grand scheme of things ? Atlantic thinks of Soundtrakk as a Plan B producer. They don’t care about Lupe Fiasco’s or Soundtrakk’s vision, just like some record executives don’t care about Tip’s. That’s how Soundtrakk got reduced to a bonus track on the album. Alex Da Kid, though ? Yeah. They listen to what he has to say, he’s big money. Record something with him and not releasing it ? Not happening. He’s a Plan A producer. You go in the studio with him to find the single. That’s the purpose he serves, much like Polow Da Don.

Now of course, the reason this bothers me in the first place is that if Q-Tip has a vision, then that vision should be respected. At the end of the day, as he would put it himself, the man wants to be remembered as an artist who did great things. And while Tip has without a doubt created some incredible music, the path he’s on in this stage of his career is leading him to do great things that no one is releasing.

No I.D. is taking over The Believer and Salaam Remi is handling Life Is Good solo. No room for Q-Tip to participate on either these great Hip Hop moments that are about to happen. Kamaal needs to move. And he can.

Pete Rock, fresh off a Smif-N-Wessun joint record, is taking Camp Lo to the studio. No I.D. [who cracked Watch The Throne’s highlight joint as Beyoncé was rehearsing the Lift Off chorus] dropped a joint outta nowhere with Common and some friends under the name Cocaine 80s. Initiate something, Tip. Stop waiting for others to see the greatness you can bring, give the fans what we want. Inspire artists to go search for you phone number and order some of that crack. Show some work.

Shit, Common himself was part of this article as a second target when the draft started, but he’s since flipped the script. and Tip, you can too. Unlike the rappers discussed in part one of this article, all you need to sort out is your own motivation. But it’s been more than a year now. Announce some projects, drop a solo EP from the middle of nowhere much like the Cocaine 80s to get fans excited about your next solo album, fuck, do something. Anything. Give us a sneak preview of what you’ve been working on with Jay so that we at least know that something is still actually happening. Leak a joint from The Standard, since you announced you were working on that with Common three days after the tweet at the top of the page. And yes, I still believe that project might someday drop. I know I shouldn’t, but such is the life of a fan.

It’s time for you to get back in the game, Kamaal. It was time last September when you made those announcements, and you’re still not back, a full 12 months later. While no one is asking you to go Swizz on the public, you can and should do more. As important as the A Tribe Called Quest documentary is, remember Raekwon’s philosophy: There’s still history to document. The game is not done. And this fan, in particular, is not about to give up on you anytime soon.

Comments on: "Lazy Producers Need Motivation" (64)

  1. Good stuff..

    Tip is often overlooked, but he definitely has secured his place among the greats.

    Still, some new work would be welcome.

  2. Gr8 fuccn’ write up..Tip STILL got it(word 2 Mamas Boyfriend and That’s my bitch and Gettn’ up) and I guess das da disappointn’ part..I grew up on Tribe and I REALLY thank him and Ye can make some AMAZN’ WORLD STOPPN’ shit production wise..4 artist such as Hov..Nas..or da NewGawds Jay-E and Pusha..man..niggas is lazy lol

  3. i got my dudes ready, texting them right now, tron is it real or fake? the drama with nate and eskay? im calling niggas up right now, calling niggas from long island and queens, tron is it real or fake, the drama with eskay and nate from nahright.com? im ready to ride all jokes aside

  4. fcuk you eskay and nate you fucking nerds on nahright.com

  5. facebook.com/pages/FCUK-eskay-and-nate-from-nahrightcom/226418994078141?sk=wall
    ^soowoop

  6. Nice article. Your absolutely right in saying that its vital for an artist to keep the public eye on them, even if it’s with side projects. It works out for the fans, cuz we get more music then the majors would normally give the green light to, and it can be unfiltered, right from the artists, according to only their vision. But it means the artist has to take the initiative and go about making that music, without instant rewards. That said, I bought 2 albums today based on the fact that Id downloaded free projects by Ev and J Cole in the recent past. The FreEP/side project/mixtape pays off in the long run. Hopefully Tip takes note and we get some catchup on the music side from him. Or, ya know.. he could just remain a legend and never do anything again, its really his choice.

  7. ” But it means the artist has to take the initiative and go about making that music, without instant rewards. ”

    Like you said, he can just chill and feed off an established legacy.

    What bother me is the “Hey, I’m back !” attitude and the interview he gave out in twenty ten sayin’ he would do a lot more production work, get back on the boards for real again. [I failed to find that video like I did Swizz’s.]

    And there’s also, like I said, the fact that some artists don’t respect and/or are not satisfied with his work anymore. Going to the studio with Beyoncé and Jay he’s taking a legit, professional approach, but how is that paying off ?

    That’s why I’m suggesting he should give those methods some thought. Like you said, there’s a better route that pays off in the long run. And if there’s one thing you can say about legends in the game, is there that should be no rush on their part when it comes to crafting and delivering quality music.

  8. freck billionaire

    google it
    bing it
    youtube it
    facebook it
    twitter it

    just listen to this kids music…west philly freck…a legend from philly…

  9. Shout out 2 my nigga FBM..I mean Freck Billionaire Music lmao

  10. N E NIKKA WANT BEEF HOLL@
    Got the mexicans ready to ride…and my salvadorian nikkas are on call
    Pu$$y ass nikkuh
    Ziploc gets a pass, Tronda get a pass…
    But I’m coming for you neck, I’m coming for you head…
    FCUK BOI…lol

  11. Ashy meat Rawlins….Ashmi Rollins…Ashmeat Rawlinz….

    Nate, Nation of Moderation from Nahright.com

    Imma ring your neck…be lucky a nikka dont run up in dem officez, and knock your coke bottle glasses and break your ipad 2 in half….ya heard FCUK BOI!!!

    relay this message

  12. YOOOO..Free FBM mane lol..Death 2 da impostas..dat nigga a NRLegend RealNiggaShit..and BIG shout out 2 WestPhil Frecc..das my nigga 4 REAL.like in RealLife..Hopp gr8 read again my brotha..Let’s Get It..1

  13. I see you ‘loc.

    Appreciate it, man.

  14. youtube.com/watch?v=FeuVwn78MTc&feature=player_embedded#!
    ^old diddy is back? puff from 96 and 97?

    screaming and yelling at nikkuh faces….trying to beat nikkuhz up in the club…i respect that..

    Puffy is a boss in deez streets for sure….He made suge take a lot of l’s….you didn’t hear it from me though…

    T.I. had to hold Diddy back…Diddy was about beat the fuck outta a nikkuh for not drinking ciroc…

    ciroc boyz…

    Diddy is a gangsta…thug…goon…bossing up in the club

  15. Anybody can pop off wit security in fronta dem..Diddy a succa ass chilly pimp ass nigga..and wasn’t like he was standn’ in da crowd like Jeezy..he was on stage..PLUS dem niggas shot dat bitch up..DEY WON…

  16. And Flocca caught 1 2 da face..by a lil nigga in my Jody voice lmao

  17. nate unmoderate me…no beef, let bygones be bygones. Eskay is good dude, Nate is a genius. Ziploc Squad makes good music. Squash it. Free my name.

    How can I get the OVO jacket? I got the bread for it. where online..

  18. @ Hopp….

    …whatz up….wid all deez words sun….??

    stop typin…

    get a job and get muney…and get some bitchez….and den holla at me on my jack…or my 2 way…

    Fuck a blog dawg cause one day imma gonna leakz….

    The Untouchable Wikileaks Empire.

  19. freck billionaire music is a batty boi….

    beellee dat….imma grown ass blood…

    YMCMB…Wikileakz…we on our way to a billie…

  20. the kid frankie on nahright.com go on georgebushmoney.com

    listen wiz, curren$y, taylor gang aficianado…listen bruh…im not playing with you….

    frankie 007…come on here…

  21. you can’t tell me wiz khalifa isn’t biting kanye and lil wayne….

    wiz you are not drake…

    stop it…ya girl is a jump…ran thru…

    game had her, black wall street had her, ye passed her to you…..and you wanna put a ring on that..

    “thats the girl you give a wedding ring, me and my nikkas nutted on her and everything” – big sean..

  22. eskay and nate will never let me go on nahright.com, they wont give me an alias. its ok though. I try getting at the kid frankie 007 on facebook, no response. Eskay and Nate aint gonna let me go on. How long is the trip from philly to the burgh? I am br0k3 so i cant aff0rd a gps.

    its cool…

  23. whatever man
    im done with this blogging, fb, twitter…shit is not for me…im too g and thuggy for this shit

  24. Mike Knox ft. Beanie Sigel & Shawty Lo – Bottles To The Back (Dirty/No DJ)

    ^I met mike knox(g-unit philly artist) on 28th/29th and broadway…he’s a good dude…had goons around him too…..waiting for beans after taking a meeting with 50 cent…

    phillies

  25. I was definitely not ready for the nahright.com ether fest. Those comment posters are on another level of misery and loneliness. Officially retired from reading blogs. I begin a new chapter in my life. Amanda diva I feel your pain.

    Church boy music
    Choir boy music

  26. Damn..RIP FBM…

    Max B and French Montana No, No, No>…

    Da Wavy 1>…

  27. God 4gives..I don’t> Bawse>
    “I can’t w8 2 slap da shit outta da nigga dat carry her bags…”

    #RAWseDIAmonds

    *BawseDon Laugh*

  28. eskay nation from nahright.com, i really need you to delete “the kid frankie’s” posts on the comment section. he is posting real personal stuff about my life, i really don’t know how in the world he knows me like that. Some true, some bold faced lies and exaggeration. I tried emailing you guys, no reply. I need his comments deleted, I don’t want my business out there like that. I am private person, that is personal stuff.

    ziploc squad…please send this to eskay….nation
    tron..can you relay the message…

    somebody please post this on nahright.com comment section, they wont let me post there.

  29. i tried emailing dude…no response…i might just make the trip to the steel city…and then it aint talking….its strictly george st pierre time in a cage match….im talking muscle and bones….I am a boxer/ufc fighter….i do not play…ask nikkas about me in the gym…

    “the kid frankie” on nahright comment section poster

  30. @ Freck…what da…fark is wrong wit you sun…?

    …no wun cares about your private or personal or public like b…we on wun…you aint on nuthin fam…

    RIP FRECKLES BILLIONARE…RIP PAUL CASTELANO….RIP YOUNG JEEZY…

    Free da homie Bradley Manning…BAWSE…

  31. Tha summas mine…and Winter too…

    But you can have autumn and spring…

    Cause dem seasonz are poo…

    BAWSE.

    ^^^^^
    #JulianAssangeGEMS

    That fuckboi Wondough aint got shit one me sun…

  32. that fuck boy frankie…posted shit about me…bitch ass nikka…

  33. “marvin bernard with a laptop“ – ashmi rawlins

    eskay is funny fat boy

    TONY TWO TIMES (TONY YAYO)

    Two Times…2x’s i see you

  34. Yo RealTalk..NahRight need 2 unmoderate da kid cuz “Da South got somethn’ 2 say…” and Free dat nigga FBM..dat nigga was 1 of da funniest niggas dat EVA commentd ova in dat muthafucca mane #Salute youngn’..Jihad get @ me mane..1…

  35. Abortatron said:

    Wtf is going on in this post yo

  36. Mean as fuck.

  37. Freck billionaire music said:

    This site is cool. Trying to bring some traffic here and look out.

    I know it’s in the building stage.

    Eskay and Nate are some scorned hoes. Eskay is stuck up token Tom.

  38. Why da fucc my comments disappearn’..?

  39. I wonda how Jay-Z REALLY feel bout dat nigga JayE..?

  40. Threats is 4 da faggots..Respect is in da action..da Locman on da wrist of da same hand dat did da blastn’..of tecs..what’s next..? Progress and interaction..mob business..murda..in search of Gods 4giveness..but receivn’ hells fiyah ~ ZipGawd

  41. Niggas tryna say Dubb sound like who..Well I sound like me and y’all sound like Clue..voice all light and ya noise all quiet..and my presence alone been known 2 spark riots..so heres da endn’ 2 da apprentice ya all fired..all biters relinquish ya pens catch arthritis..now dat da king home and da bling is on..pardon my speech but reach and dem things is drawn..so let thy will b done til kingdom come..Heaven on earth..da God will put ya flesh in da dirt..hustlas religion..til death do us..we either balln’ like a muthafucca..dead or stucc in a prison..da fucc am I kiddn’..I kno da rules..show and prove..das why da coupe remain ova shoes..and da tools remain ovaused..while I drop diamonds reclinin in da coldest jewels..why should u listen simple cuz I told u 2… ~ ZipGawd

  42. I was in da kitchen whippn up da blow 4 u..baggn’ up da grams standn’ in da cold 4 u..riskn’ my freedom flee’n from da po pos 4 u..so 2 b honest homage was long ova due..why u ask did all do all dat 4 u..? So u can live thru my experiences..and wouldn’t have 2 witness it..witness niggas killn’ dey man ova da slightest differences..witness niggas stand in front of a judge and get life sentences..witness ya girl fucc ya man b4 ya prison ship..u stucc in da county wildn’ on some guerilla shit..life falln’ apart… ~ ZiPGawD

  43. Aye Jihad..can’t lie..ya boy Fif been killn’ it lately cuz RealShit..damn near ALL dem streetking records been craccocaine..still 2 early 2 say he bacc doe lol…

    50s my fav>
    tracc 8>

  44. To Add One More To The List Aint No Problem said:

    Hey Julian…You dont know $WonDough$ and what his capabilities are but yet you call him a fuck boi…You so bout it bout it..a real man…aint you…These niggas man get so gassed behind the comp and overestimate themselves so much its hilarious….

  45. To Add One More To The List Aint No Problem said:

    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

    Im real cuz….Im real cuz…..Ill pay 50K to fuck up ya week….den i leak all ova ya mamma…


  46. ^beans is a problem….

    beans is still a problem

    “you think im a eagles fan”

    “my philly frontline do not play”

    philly rappas >>>

  47. Im real cuz….Im real cuz…

    Who gives a fuck if you real or not cuz…There is real niggas that are soft as fuck and they are fake niggas that will be the first to cut your throat……It dont make no difference….Give me 25K and I will fuck up 2 weeks myself…If you got it like that which I doubt

  48. Wondoughnuts send his weed carriers to battle da don of the leakz…..cause he too shook to face da leaks…

    Da boss dont respond to weed carriers…who have feminine wayz…

    laughin at you haterz while dodge pot holes in Jamaica…and makes luv to every woman that you lust…

    …Wondough…you reign on the top is short as leprechaun …its ova b…watch da throne while i leak…

    This battle will go down in history….as bigger than Gnozir and Camel…

    … except there will be no peace…no interview with Sway…because…God Forgives, I Don’t.

  49. Grown ass bloods bleed too…you can really become the biggest leaker in the game HA

  50. ^^^^

    *Crip walks while Im on house arrest in some mansion in England*

  51. Dis…. is an epic battle….

    I salute you Wondoughnuts and your weed boyz with feminnie wayz….

    …but there can only be wun…we on wun sucka…

    RIP Wondoughnuts…I leak on your grave and make luv to your woman…and then leak on her…R Kelly status…

  52. AInt you the nigga that retreated …came to regroup…and waited here….you know HA

    No where to run to baby no where to hide

  53. G Unit is and will always be the Black Beatles….
    Banks (hunger for more a clasic, 2-3 times plat)
    Game (The documentary a classic, 5x plat)
    Fiddy (Get rich or die trying a monumental clasic, 12-13 million)
    Buck
    Yayo

    Them on hot 97….made flex drop bombs and clue send over the fire trucks

    Banks murdering all the freestyles and beats….punchline king


  54. ^eskay post this fuck nigga

  55. young chris…what could of been…”fucked every little bad bitch in the school”

  56. Dis blawg dead…like Wondoughnuts Kareer…

    *lots of shots*

  57. Wondoughnuts hahhaha niggas is nerds coming up with this stuff to try and flip names Julian= nerd ass nigga

Leave a Reply

